What is the process of adoption in Minnesota?

What is the process of adoption in Minnesota?

Best Answer

  • Answer ✓
    The process of adoption in Minnesota will be subject to both state and federal adoption laws. You can read all about the adoption process in Minnesota here on the Adoption.com Wiki page for Minnesota.  

    According to the wiki, birth parents must consent to an adoption. If a birth parent is under 18, their parent or guardian must also give their consent. If a child to be adopted in over 14, they must provide their written consent to be adopted. 

    In regards to the home study, everyone over the age of 13 in the home is subject to a background study. Here are some things that might disqualify a person from adopting, according to the wiki: 

    "
    • Child abuse or neglect
    • Spousal abuse
    • A crime against children, including child pornography
    • A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical assault or battery

    A home study must not be approved if a background study reveals a felony conviction within the past 5 years for:

    • Physical assault or battery
    • A drug-related offense"
    A birth parent may execute their consent to an adopt 72 hours after the child has been born. The consent can be revoked for 10 working days. A petition to adopt will be filed with the court along with the home study findings before a child is placed. 

    An adoption is subject to post placement visits. Finalization cannot occur until these visits have been completed and reported the court. Finalization will occur no earlier that 3 months after the child has been placed in the home. 
Sign In or Register to comment.